Thursday, November 8, 2012

Peter Paul and Mary; (Ten) Years Together

I have some other PPM albums to get up here soon, but for now...this is The Best of Peter, Paul, and Mary: titled Ten Years Together, a 1970 greatest hits release by American folk trio Peter, Paul, and Mary. It is the last album released before the group split up in 1970.  The album includes all of their greatest hits, including their only #1 hit "Leaving On A Jet Plane", "If I Had a Hammer", and their versions of the Bob Dylan songs "Blowin' in the Wind", "Don't Think Twice, It's All Right," and "Too Much of Nothing," along with others. The thirteen cuts were taken from the trio's 1962 debut album (Peter, Paul and Mary), along with three of their follow-up albums: In the Wind (1963), Album 1700 (1967), and Peter, Paul and Mommy (1969), as well as a single hit (Puff) from 1963's Moving.  Ten Years Together was released on Warner Brothers Label 2552 in 1970. Due to the trio's 1970 breakup, this would be their last album together until 1978's Reunion album.  AllMusic's Bruce Eder praises this compilation as a close cross-section of PP&M's eclectic sound, nicely highlighting the group's evolution during the prior decade from the acoustic folk sound that helped popularize several early Dylan compositions, to their later use of electric guitar and drums on hits like Too Much of Nothin' - another Dylan contribution, but from his later sound, composed in 1967, but not released by Dylan himself until 1975.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thanks for commenting!