Thursday, January 17, 2013

Pat Metheny Group: Promotional Copy. Not for Sale

Pat Metheny Group: a promotional copy - three songs from Offramp.  Offramp is the Grammy Award winning third album by Pat Metheny Group, released in 1982.  The album won the Grammy Award for Best Jazz Fusion Performance in 1983.  Offramp is the first studio recording on which Metheny used the guitar synthesizer. The personnel on this record are: Pat Metheny - guitar synthesizer, guitar, synclavier guitar.  Lyle Mays - piano, synthesizer, autoharp, organ, synclavier.  Steve Rodby - acoustic and electric bass.  Dan Gottlieb - drums. And Nana Vasconcelos - percussion, voice, berimbau.  This ep and the LP were produced by Manfred Eicher.  "Manfred Eicher (born 9 July 1943 in Lindau, Germany) is a German record producer and the founder of ECM Records and its subsidiaries.  Eicher studied music at the Academy of Music in Berlin. He is a record producer and a double-bass player. In 1969 he founded a record label in Munich called ECM - Edition of Contemporary Music.[1] Some of the famous artists he has recorded over the last 40 years are Keith Jarrett,Jan Garbarek, Chick Corea, Gary Burton, Jack DeJohnette, Anouar Brahem, Dave Holland, Pat Metheny, Ralph Towner, Terje Rypdal, Steve Kuhn, and the Art Ensemble of Chicago.  A notable record ECM released in its early years was The Köln Concert, a solo piano performance by Keith Jarrett.  Nearly as well known is the early Pat Metheny recording American Garage."

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thanks for commenting!