Saturday, February 23, 2013

Ian Hunter: two album covers

On the right is his second album - All-American Boy (ha ha - he was born in England), and Everyone seems to play on it: Chris Stainton, and all of these:  Jaco Pastorius – bass guitar all tracks, guitar on track 8, Aynsley Dunbar – drums.  Gerry Weens – lead guitar.  David Sanborn – alto sax.  Dominic Cortese – accordion.  Cornell Dupree – guitar on "Letter to Brittania From the Union Jack."  Partof Queen: Freddie Mercury – backing vocals on "You Nearly Did Me In" and Brian May – backing vocals on "You Nearly Did Me In."  On the left is You're Never Alone with a Schizophrenic.   And on this record - have of the E Street Band help out:  Talent, Bittan, and Weinberg.
Ian Hunter Patterson, (born 3 June 1939), is an English singer-songwriter who is best known as the lead singer of the English rock band Mott the Hoople from its inception in 1969 to its dissolution in 1974, and at the time of its 2009 reunion.  Hunter was a musician and songwriter before joining Mott The Hoople, and continued in this vein after he left the band.  He embarked on a solo career despite ill health and disillusionment with commercial success, and often worked in collaboration with Mick RonsonDavid Bowie's sideman and arranger from the Ziggy Stardust and the Spiders from Mars period.  Mott The Hoople achieved a certain level of commercial success, and attracted a small but devoted fan base.  As a solo artist, Hunter charted with lesser-known but more wide-ranging works outside of the rock mainstream. His best-known solo records are "Once Bitten, Twice Shy", later covered by Great White, and "Cleveland Rocks," a cover version of which became the theme song for the American TV series The Drew Carey Show.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thanks for commenting!