Friday, August 26, 2011

Mott the Hoople - more than just some Young Dudes

Mott the Hoople...Mott the Hoople were a British rock band with R&B roots and were dominant in the early glam rock era of rock in the early to mid 1970s.  They did "All the Young Dudes," which was written by David Bowie.  It's on their 1972 album of the same name.   I have some very good friends who lived in (and now very close to) the town in England where parts of this band hailed from.  Mostly from known sources - "Mott The Hoople can be traced to two beat bands from a part of England called Herefordshire in the early 1960s.  The Soulents were from Ross-On-Wye, where I have been to on numerous occassions - and also boasted Pete Overend Watts on guitar, and Dale "Buffin" Griffin on drums.  The Buddies were also from Hereford, and featured Mick Ralphs on guitar and Stan Tippins on vocals.  By 1966, Ralphs, Tippins, and Watts (the latter now on bass) had come together in a band called The Doc Thomas Group, and soon secured a residency at a club in a resort town in Italy.  The group was offered a recording contract with the Italian label Dischi Interrecord, and released an eponymous album in January 1967.  By 1968, drummer Dale Griffin and organist Verden Allen had joined the band."

1 comment:

  1. "Mott the Hoople were an English rock band"

    You are such a wanna-be Brit! ;-)


Thanks for commenting!